MEDIA 2001 All-Cut Team : LUSENET : Purple : One Thread

2001 All-Cut Team

CBS Sportsline

Between the time the NFL waiver wire was reactivated on Thursday, Feb. 22, and 4 p.m. on March 1, when all teams had to be under the 2001 salary cap limit of $67.4 million, there were 102 veterans released league-wide. We thought it would be interesting to see if we could come up with a relatively competitive 53-man roster comprised of players who were released, had their contracts terminated or did not have options exercised on them. Here is the roster, with the starters in italics:


WR: Carl Pickens (Cincinnati), Derrick Mayes (Seattle) LT: Tony Jones (Denver), Spencer Folau (Baltimore) LG: Brendan Stai (Jacksonville), Lester Holmes (Arizona) C: Dermontti Dawson (Pittsburgh), Steve Everitt (St. Louis) RG: Tre Johnson (Washington), Kevin Gogan (San Diego) RT: Leon Searcy (Jacksonville), Earl Dotson (Green Bay) TE: Andrew Glover (New Orleans), Damon Jones (Jacksonville), Michael Roan (Tennessee) WR: Sean Dawkins (Seattle), Reggie Barlow (Jacksonville), Yancey Thigpen (Tennessee) QB: Elvis Grbac (Kansas City), Doug Flutie (Buffalo), Ryan Leaf (San Diego) FB: William Floyd (Carolina), Lorenzo Neal (Tennessee) RB: Kimble Anders (Kansas City), Curtis Enis (Chicago), Donnell Bennett (Kansas City)


LE: John Randle (Minnesota), John Burrough (Minnesota) LT: Dana Stubblefield (Washington), Ted Washington (Buffalo) RT: Chester McGlockton (Kansas City), D'Marco Farr (St. Louis) RE: Lance Johnstone (Oakland), Joel Smeenge (Jacksonville) SLB: Cornelius Bennett (Indianapolis), Sam Rodgers (Buffalo), Dwayne Gordon (New York Jets) MLB: Bryan Cox (New York Jets), Ken Norton Jr. (San Francisco) WLB: Chris Slade (New England), Roman Phifer (New York Jets) LCB: Eric Davis (Carolina), Tyrone Poole (Indianapolis), Darryll Lewis (San Diego) RCB: James Hasty (Kansas City), Ryan McNeil (Dallas), Darrien Gordon (Oakland) FS: Rod Woodson (Baltimore), Mike Dumas (San Diego) SS: Marcus Robertson (Tennessee), Greg Jeffries (Miami)

Special teams

P: Chris Mohr (Buffalo) PK: Doug Brien (New Orleans) KR: Reggie Barlow (Jacksonville) PR: Darrien Gordon (O

-- Mark (Karch, March 06, 2001

Moderation questions? read the FAQ