Week 1: Introductions

greenspun.com : LUSENET : EDUC 321 : One Thread

Tell us a little about yourself. Your background, your aspirations, why you are taking this course, and whatever else you feel you want to share.

-- Anonymous, September 08, 2000


I am the teacher. HI.

-- Anonymous, September 12, 2000

I am a Psychology major and a Education minor. For the last 2 1/2 years, I have been working at a corporate day care with children aged between 3 mos. to 12 years. I find this job very rewarding since I love children so. For the future, I see myself working with babies-PreK in a special education intervention program. I love reading, listening to music, and doing crafts. Unfortunately, I no longer have the time to do crafts. I also have a boyfriend for the last 6 and 1/2 years and the greatest dog in the world, Sundance. As for this class, I hope to do the best I can. Any additional pointers down the road would be greatly appreciated! That's my story.

-- Anonymous, September 12, 2000

Hi! I am a kindergarten para for both the ESL and Bi-lingual program.I work with 25 children in each class. The hardest part of the job is trying to remember all their names,I normally accomplish this by October. I have four children of my own, two are currently attending college and two are in high school. I hope to obtain my degree as soon as possible and would love to become a kindergarten teacher. I love being with the little ones. When they first utter English for the first time is such a pleasure. In the process we sometimes create Frankeinsteins, for once they start speaking they do not stop. By the time May rolls around you wish that they would revert to their native language so that you could have a little peace and quiet. I just love them.


-- Anonymous, September 12, 2000

I am currently a sophomore at Marymount. I am a Psychology major and an education minor. I would like to focus on early childhood education to become a nursery school. I now live in a very small apartment with three other girls on 76th st and 1st Ave. I hope to learn a lot in this class and to become even more comfortable with technology.

-- Anonymous, September 14, 2000

My name is Judy, I live in the Bronx and I have two sons. Angel is thirteen and Cristian is four. I am a paraprofessional for the board of education. Presently I am doing academic intervention for students who need help in reading. I am a psychology major with a education minor. I plan to continue with the Board of Education and be a teacher in the elementary level and later obtain a master's in counseling. As a counselor I would still be able to work for the Board of Education and help the children. This is what I like doing most.

-- Anonymous, September 14, 2000

Hi, my name is Gail. I am a paraprofessional with the Bd. of ED.I have worked on west 52nd St for 10 years. I am currently working with the students IEP's. I run and set up the meetings for the parents. My future goal is to open up my own daycare group. I enjoy the looks on the young childrens faces when they acheive a task. I also enjoy listening to Jazz and Blues music. I am a mother of two boys, ages 25yrs.and 29yrs. of age.I also have a 6 year old grandson named, Charles, (A.K.A.-C.J.). I hope to learn more about computers and how they work in our world today and for the near future.

-- Anonymous, September 15, 2000

My occupation is an Assistant Teacher at South Jamaica Center for Children and Parents. Inc Before I became an assistant teacher I worked for Deutsche Bank, Formally Bankers Trust, as a Data Entry Clerk in the security department. Durning my spare time, I participate in different activities at First Presbyterian Church, for instance, Christian Education Chair-Person, an Elder and the Moderator of Presbyterian Women organization. In addition, I enjoy walking and listing to jazz and gospel music. I like working with Pre-School children. My goal is to graduate with a degree in Sociology and a minor in education. I am taking this course because it is one of the required courses.

-- Anonymous, September 16, 2000

Hello Prof. Assumpcao and fellow classmates!

I am an educational resource room paraprofessional for the Board of Education. I am working with blind/visually-impaired and mild hearing-impaired high school students. They bring me great joy daily and help me to put the important things in life into perspective. My future goal is to teach this wonderful population of young adults. Some of the strategies I use,include teaching them basic life skills (i.e. taking telephone messages,preparation for job interviews and dress code tips) along with academics. I am presently a junior at Marymount College with an Education minor. My hobbies include ballroom dancing, Irish-stepdancing, reading and writing. I am looking forward to this class to help me have a better understanding, as a future teacher, of how to integrate the computer into my daily lessons.

-- Anonymous, September 17, 2000

I am a twenty-two year old mother and sophomor. I am a paraprofessional for the New York City Board of Education and I work in a fourth grade class. I love teaching and children! Overall I love to be a help whenever I can. I plan to graduate by the year 2002 and begin teaching my own class.(Hopefully) I want to learn about computers and how to teach incorporating computers in the classroom. For me this will be difficult, being that we do not get along. Learning the computer to me is like learning a new language. Finally I hope to learn alot from this class.

-- Anonymous, September 18, 2000

Hi, my name is Viorica. I am a paraprofessional for the BOE,and I started working as a para since last year. My future goal is to became a teacher, and now I am studying to complite my education here at MMC. I hope to learn a lot in this class, and I consider that taking this course will be very useful to my profession. I enjoy listening to music, and I love going to theater.

-- Anonymous, September 18, 2000

Hi. My name is Elizabeth Connors. I am a History major and Education minor. I am finishing up my last year at Marymount. I look forward to this class and learning more aboutthe role of technology and learning.

-- Anonymous, September 19, 2000

Hi everyone, I apologize for posting so late but it took me forever to figure this out. My name is Charisse Lewis. I am 28 years old married and a mother of 3 children. My son Amahd is 9 and my twin daughters Yasmeen and Adreana just turned 8. This is my junior year at Marymount and I hope to get out of school 2002. My major is Psychology and my minor is Education. I love children and I feel the future is in their hands and I want to be a part of the experience of enlightment which is my passion and goal.

-- Anonymous, October 08, 2000

Moderation questions? read the FAQ