Islands open to public : LUSENET : About Hawaii : One Thread

Which of the Hawaiian islands are actually open to people coming to visit Hawaii?

-- Elizabeth Mays (, January 10, 1999


The main islands of Hawaii are Niihau, Kauai, Oahu, Molokai, Lanai, Maui, Kahoolawe, and Hawaii. There are 132 shoals, reefs, islets and islands that make up 6,450 square miles that stretches 400 miles. The above 8 major islands make up over 99% of the land area. Back to your question, you can visit all the islands except Niihau which is privately owned and Kahoolawe which used to be a military target.

-- Roy Inouye (, January 10, 1999.

Moderation questions? read the FAQ